double chocolate pecan salted caramel brownies (vegan, Paleo, gluten-free, dairy-free, grain-free, egg-free, primal)

I turned fifteen yesterday.

Screen Shot 2013-09-22 at 12.21.26

Let me just reiterate that my birthday was on a Saturday.  I mean, that fact already makes it great, but with the house full of girls and boys I am lucky to call my friends for three hours, it was my greatest birthday yet. There was cake – if you didn’t know, I run a cake decorating business and it’s the only half artistic thing I’m capable of – and there was pizza. There was laughter, there was fun, and there was sunshine.

Screen Shot 2013-09-22 at 12.21.37

One year ago that day, I was admitted to hospital. On the morning of my fourteenth birthday, I boarded a plane with my mother and left behind my father and brother. We flew to Holland and took a taxi directly from the airport to the hospital. I recall the heavy curtain of sleep falling over me seemingly all the time; in the plane, the taxi, and even talking to the doctors. I was just so, so tired. For three months, in varying states of health, I walked around that small, disinfectant scented hospital room.

Screen Shot 2013-09-22 at 12.22.06

They never did find out what was wrong with me in those three months. They talked, they watched, they speculated. Celiac? Impossible. Food allergies? No way. After those three moths, I left that hospital no better than when I had entered it. But we didn’t give up. Doctor after doctor, we travelled around until we had an answer. And a year later, we have it, and I feel better than ever. Coeliac and fifty-three food allergies – most people offer their condolences upon learning about my allergies, but I’m determined to celebrate them. My life has changed so much for the better, and in a way I could never have imagined.

Screen Shot 2013-09-22 at 12.21.52

I mean, without my diagnosis I would never have made these brownies! And that would just have been detrimental to humankind everywhere. Chewy, fudgy, and rich chocolate cake studded with crunchy pecans drizzled with a sweet ribbon of dark salted caramel sauce and lashings of melted chocolate. They are exactly what a good brownie should be – fudgy and dense with a crispy top, sweet and deliciously salty with flakes of Maldon sea salt sprinkled over the top, and drizzled with caramel sauce.

Screen Shot 2013-09-22 at 12.21.01

Oh, and since it’s my birthday weekend, you totally have permission to eat two. Or three…

Adapted from the wonderful Brittany!

double chocolate pecan salted caramel brownies

by Alessandra Peters

Prep Time: 20 minutes

Cook Time: 40 minutes

Ingredients (serves 16)

    For the Brownies

    • 3 cups finely ground almond flour
    • 2/3 cup cacao powder
    • pinch salt
    • 1 tablespoon baking powder
    • 1 cup coconut palm sugar
    • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
    • 5 tablespoons water
    • 4 tablespoons melted coconut oil
    • 1/3 cup chocolate chips
    • 1/3 cup chopped pecans

    For the Caramel

    • 1/4 cup coconut oil
    • 1/2 cup coconut palm sugar
    • 3 tablespoons coconut cream from the top of a chilled can of coconut milk
    • 1/2 teaspoon Maldon sea salt flakes

    Instructions

    1. Preheat your oven to 180 degrees C (350 degrees F).

    2. Line a 8×8 inch pan with baking parchment.

    3. Mix together all brownie ingredients except chopped pecans and chocolate chips in a large bowl. Press mixture in to the lined pan.

    4. Bake for around 40 minutes or until slightly firm to the touch.

    5. Let cool for 20 minutes, then sprinkle with pecan pieces.

    6. To make the caramel, combine all ingredients in a small saucepan and whisk until everything is melted and combined. Let cool in a glass jar until slightly thickened.

    7. Drizzle the brownies with lashings of caramel sauce.

    8. Optional: melt some more chocolate chips to drizzle over the brownies.

    9. Enjoy!

    Powered by Recipage
    3 thoughts on “double chocolate pecan salted caramel brownies (vegan, Paleo, gluten-free, dairy-free, grain-free, egg-free, primal)

    1. Happy Birthday! I am amazed by how you are running a cake decorating business at such a young age–such a great achievement! It’s very uplifting how you embrace your celiac disease and food allergies =) You are definitely contributing to the food community with all your wonderful recipes!

    2. Pingback: Aunt Linda’s F’n Good Brownies | Zlater Family CookBook

    Write a little note! Thank you so much for commenting.

    