rhubarb in the garden

After a short wander in my garden today, I made the capricious decision to pull out a stalk of rhubarb and see how it was getting along.

Mistake. Big mistake. It was perfectly ripe. I pulled it all out and am now left with about two kilos of perfectly red and juicy rhubarb. How could I not?!

DSC_6019

I love rhubarb. It’s acidic, slightly sweet, yet deliciously tangy, and if you get the perfect balance of fresh rhubarb on a sweet summer’s day, it’s simply wonderful.

So, what did I do with my abundance of rhubarb? Well. I kitted up in all my old clothes (rhubarb stains, as in really, really stains) and being the organisational perfectionist that I am, I set up a rhubarb-preparing station. Yes, really.

Wash, peel, chop. Yum. Half of it went straight into a big pot dedicated to rhubeena and passion fruit rhubarb popsicles, and the other half was popped in to the freezer for later use – oh yes, I’m serious. Expect many more (possibly a slightly ridiculous amount) recipes using the herbaceous perennials very soon. It’s a date.

Screen Shot 2013-05-21 at 17.47.55

Screen Shot 2013-05-21 at 17.47.27

Write a little note! Thank you so much for commenting.

